Universal Translation Services

What Language Is Spoken In Peru?

What Language Is Spoken In Peru?
peru native language
(Last Updated On: March 17, 2023)

Peru Language

Peru, officially the Republic of Peru, is a country in western South America. The country borders Ecuador and Colombia to the north, Brazil to the east, Bolivia to the southeast, Chile to the south, and the Pacific Ocean to the west.

Peru also claims territories in Antarctica where it has made its capital at Lima. In terms of language, Peru has two official languages: Spanish and Quechua. However, there are several other indigenous languages that are widely spoken throughout various regions across Peru.

If you want to learn more about Peruvian language and other facts about this fascinating country, keep reading!

A Brief History of Peru

Peru is located in Western South America and is bordered by Ecuador, Colombia, Brazil, Bolivia, and Chile. The country has a long history dating back to the Inca Empire. However, the Spanish conquered the Incas in the 16th century and Spanish became the primary language spoken in Peru.

Today, there are still many indigenous languages spoken throughout the country as well as neighboring countries in Latin America. The government of Peru has recently recognized three extinct languages: Quechua, Aymara, and Ashaninka.

These are now considered official languages that must be taught in schools. Spanish is still considered the most important language for communication among different ethnic groups because it provides greater opportunities for economic mobility.

The Spanish language also contributes to maintaining national unity. Spanish speakers constitute approximately 75% of the population while 10% speak indigenous languages.

native language of peru,

The vast majority of people in Peru speak Spanish, with Quechua being the next most common language. There are also small pockets of people who speak Aymara, Ashaninka, and other indigenous languages. English is not widely spoken, but you’ll find that most people in tourist areas will be able to understand and communicate with you.

Peru is a multilingual country with three official languages: Spanish, Quechua, and Aymara.

main language of peru

An Overview of Peru’s Language

Peru is a multilingual country with over eighty native languages spoken, although Spanish is the dominant language. The history of language in Peru is complex and interesting, dating back to the 16th century when the country was colonized by the Spanish.

Today, there are three principal languages spoken in Peru: Spanish, Quechua, and Aymara. While Quechua is the mother tongue of many Peruvians living in the Andean region, Spanish is more commonly spoken in the coastal region.

However, both languages are considered national languages. In recent years, English has become a more common language due to the increasing number of tourists visiting Peru as well as business dealings with English-speaking countries.

Regardless of what language you speak, if you visit this beautiful South American country, be sure to do your research beforehand so that you don’t end up speaking Spanish for an entire week!

What Are Some Other Languages Spoken In Peru?

While Spanish, Quechua, and Aymara are all spoken in various parts of Peru, other native tongues include;

  1. Kichwa (also known as Quichua)
  2. Shipibo-Conibo
  3. Asháninka (called Ancash Quechua)
  4. Urarina (also called Apurímac quechua).

These tribes make up only ten percent of Peru’s overall population but have significantly influenced aspects of Peruvian culture through their indigenous literature and music.

lima peru language
language spoken in peru

What Are The 3 Official Languages Of Peru?

There are three official languages in Peru: Spanish, Quechua, and Aymara. However, there are also many indigenous languages spoken throughout the country.

Quechua is the most widely spoken indigenous language in Peru, followed by Aymara. Spanish is the most common language in Peru, with around 80% of the population speaking it fluently.

However, Quechua and Aymara are also very common, with around 13% and 7% of the population speaking them respectively. Peru is a very diverse country linguistically, with over 80 different languages spoken.

The three official languages are just a small part of this diversity. So next time you’re traveling to Peru, make sure to brush up on your Quechua! Learn some phrases that might come in handy while traveling or even before you arrive.

Here are 5 useful phrases for travelers who speak no Spanish.

  1. Good morning “Hola Buenos Dias”
  2. How much does this cost? “Cuanto cuesta esto?”
  3. Where is the nearest pharmacy/bank/hospital? “Donde esta el banco mas cercano o la farmacia mas cercana o el hospital mas cercano?”
  4. Do you speak English/French/etc.? “Hablas ingles o francais o etc.?”
  5. I don’t understand “Tengo entendido que …”

Are More Languages Spoken in Peru?

While Spanish is the predominant language spoken in Peru, there are also many indigenous languages spoken throughout the country. In fact, according to Ethnologue, there are currently 84 living languages spoken in Peru.

Some of these languages include Quechua (the official language of Peru), Aymara, Kichwa, and more. These languages are used by a variety of communities that have lived in this area for centuries and continue to do so today.


No, English is not one of the official languages of Peru. The two official languages of Peru are Spanish and Quechua. Quechua is an indigenous language spoken by the Quechua people, who make up around 13% of the population.

Peru is a linguistically diverse country with around 84 different languages spoken. The most common language spoken in Peru is Spanish, followed by Quechua and Aymara.

A simple “hola” is the standard way of saying hello in Peru.

If we can help you with any questions, please feel free to contact us


Our privacy policy

Keep in touch


Contact Us 24/7

Translation office in Miami